LOCATION: The Perdeberg
LEADER: Jeanne Bull
Known as “Brouwerskloof” and granted in 1746 to Coetzee, there is a long history to this farm, tucked up against the slopes of the Perdberg. It is mentioned in Thunberg’s Travels at the Cape and the journals of Brink and Rhenius.
We’ll be viewing an example of current vernacular building, constructed to impress on first sight with its gabled façade. There will be time to analyze the “found” materials used in its construction.
The outbuilding has vestiges of old wine vats – unfortunately broken before the current owners arrived.
A small outbuilding, renovated as a bedroom, has signs of having been a stable or livery room. At its door, almost inhibiting entrance, stands an oak-tree said to be at least 150 years old. We can examine the overlay of history and hear about plans for future use of the property.
Our hosts, Judy and Mike Orpen, will welcome us onto their werf with refreshments.
The current homestead has been renovated and extended. The farm has been divided up and the adjoining property has an imposing original gabled residence with views across to False Bay (we hope to have permission to walk across to see it). These buildings have all suffered degradation and fire and have been rebuilt.
Later in the day Judy (née Bain) has a fascinating tale to tell of her grandfather Donald’s encounter with indigenous people and how this story is peeping through into the present.
We are invited to shelter in their dining room with our picnic lunches to escape either weather or flies.